Colour

img_0196Why is colour such a hang up? Does being a certain colour lead to a more successful life? I look at my children and am jealous of their innocence as they do not differentiate people according to the colour of their skin, but more their similarities and the love they show them.

My parents and previous generations are from Kashmir and even as a family we are not one shade of a colour. Growing up I do remember hearing on more than one occasion that if we had tea it would make us dark. Is that even possible or is that another wives tale that has been passed down the generations? 

I also remember when family or friends used to come from abroad the women would always have a few (about 50) tubes of cream called ‘fair and lovely’. So to be lovely, feel lovely you had to be fair? Whether the so called miracle cream actually worked I don’t know. 

img_0197

So whilst the Asian were trying to get lighter, as ‘white’as a sheet preferably. The Caucasian skinned people are spending a small fortune going orange, tanned (darker) I meant. Whether it’s a fortnightly spray tan or going to most sun inclined countries  with the lowest factor suncream on for protection, exposing themselves to harmful rays with potential for skin cancer.

Many years ago I read this poem online (below) written by a child who so cleverly highlighted the stupidity of judgement on colour. However in the same instance it saddened me that he’s poem was angry at how he had been judged and the obstacles he faced. 

Written by an African child and nominated by The United Nations as the Best Poem of 2006.

And you calling me colored??

When I born, I black.
When I grow up, I black.
When I go in sun, I black.
When I scared, I black.
When I sick, I black.
And when I die, I still black.

And you white people.
When you born, you pink.
When you grow up, you white.
When you go in sun, you red.
When you cold, you blue.
When you scared, you yellow.
When you sick, you green
And when you die, you grey…

And you calling me colored??

With the recent political shift towards extremism are we going to fall back and undo the work of those that have come before us and fought so hard for equality? Are my children’s opportunities going to be determined on their ability or the shade of their skin? What ever the future holds my children will always be taught to look behind the colour because that is what matters. 

Well the only pearls of wisdom I will passing onto the children today is to stop fighting so I can indulge myself a bit longer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

